Since getting involved with the time-banking concept in January of this year and living without the direct use of money for the last eleven months, I have learned a few things about our economy and the way we as a people operate both inside and out. It is my hope to use this forum as a place to elaborate on my findings, as well as the wisdom of others so that we may come to a greater understanding of how to progress into a more sustainable, just, and balanced system than the one we currently entertain.

I recognize that I can be quite verbose and that my wordplay may sometimes seem either grandiose or self-indulgent. I´m a poet. That´s what I do. I´ll try to be as succinct as possible, but I hope you don´t find it to be a waste of your time to celebrate communication beyond its mere utilitarian purposes. For what I have discovered in seeking for greater value in the moments of these last eleven months is that the times when I have felt the most wealthy are those in which I have given myself over to life fully in joyous abandon. Writing is where I find my flow.

As Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi wrote in his book about the psychology of optimal enjoyment, ¨Only direct control of experience, the ability to derive moment-by-moment enjoyment from everything we do, can overcome the obstacles to fulfillment.¨ For me, I have developed this notion that my greatest fulfillment is to be found in as I ¨write the world.¨ So please forgive my indulgences if I get too loquatious. Hopefully someday, Cliff will stumble upon these posts and write some notes. And to shake things up and make this more accessible, I´ll probably throw in some videos from time to time as well.

Nevertheless, this page not really about me. It is about us. It is about looking beyond the limitations of the monetary system as the only driver of our economy and recognizing that our true wealth is derived not from numbers or currencies, but from our experiences and participation in the moments that comprise our lives.

And although I am using the local currency of the Common Wealth Time Bank as a platform in order to give this conversation more focus, it is not my intention to limit it to the members of the currency, the citizens of Sarasota, or even the concept of time-banking. It is my hope that we can merely reconnect with our true value by connecting with our deeper values.

The other reason, I find it imperative to start this blog is because I don´t have all of the answers. It is my hope that by sharing my questions with the community, with Sarasota and time bankers around the world, we can find our way together, and co-create the world we want to live in.

If you feel inclined to participate in the conversation or become a contributor to this blog, please let me know.

